IOM Globally

Established in 1951, IOM is the leading inter-governmental organization in the field of migration and works closely with governmental, intergovernmental and non-governmental partners.

With 166 member states, a further 8 states holding observer status and offices in over 100 countries, IOM is dedicated to promoting humane and orderly migration for the benefit of all. It does so by providing services and advice to governments and migrants.

IOM works to help ensure the orderly and humane management of migration, to promote international cooperation on migration issues, to assist in the search for practical solutions to migration problems and to provide humanitarian assistance to migrants in need, including refugees and internally displaced people.

The IOM Constitution recognizes the link between migration and economic, social and cultural development, as well as to the right of freedom of movement. IOM works in the four broad areas of migration management:

  1. Migration and development
  2. Facilitating migration
  3. Regulating migration
  4. Combatting Forced migration.

IOM activities that cut across these areas include the promotion of international migration law, policy debate and guidance, protection of migrants’ rights, migration health and the gender dimension of migration.

Organizational Structure

The Organization’s bodies are the Council and the Administration.

The Council

The Council, on which each Member State has one representative and one vote, is the highest authority and determines IOM policies.

The Executive Committee

The Executive Committee, which at its last composition had 33 Member States elected for two-year periods, was abolished effective 21 November 2013 when the 1998 Amendments to the Constitution entered into force.

The Standing Committee on Programmes and Finance (SCPF)

The Standing Committee on Programmes and Finance (SCPF), which is open to the entire membership, replaced the Subcommittee on Budget and Finance and will normally meet twice a year to examine and review policies, programmes and activities and to discuss administrative, financial and budgetary matters.

The Administration

The Administration, which comprises a Director General, a Deputy Director-General and such staff as the Council may determine, is responsible for administering and managing the Organization in accordance with the Constitution and the policies and decisions of the Council and the Executive Committee. The Director-General, who is the Organization’s highest executive official, and the Deputy Director-General are independently elected by the Council for a period of five (5) years.